Retrieve Data from WCF - Object Graph Issues

Mar 12, 2011 at 1:11 PM
Edited Mar 12, 2011 at 1:56 PM

I am just new to Sterling database.  In my Windows Phone 7 application when the application starts, if no data exists in the database, I retrieve the intitial data from a WCF service - it is a separate call to the WCF service to retrieve a collection for each table.  I then save the retrieved data into the database.  After that I load the data into Observable Collections in my view model.  The problem that I have is that when I try to databind to my view model it does not have information on referenced classes (unless I download the entire object graph for each table (using include statements) from the WCF service).   I can see that all the foreign keys exist in the database, however the references are not populated.  I was trying to avoid having to download the entire object graph from the WCF service and hoping that because each table had the key it would then be enough to walk the object graph and populate the references when sterling loaded the objects.  Do I have to download the entire object graph from my WCF service or am I just using the wrong techniques to load my data?

Some code snippets follow:

//Downloading data
void OpenReadCompletedCategoryTypes(object sender, OpenReadCompletedEventArgs e)
            DataContractSerializer ser = null;

ser = new DataContractSerializer(typeof(ObservableCollection<CategoryType>));
                var items = ser.ReadObject(e.Result) as ObservableCollection<CategoryType>;

foreach (CategoryType i in items)

catch (Exception ex)

//Loading data - tried 2 different ways of adding to my collections - neither worked
foreach (var item in App.Database.Query<CategoryType, Guid>())
Mar 12, 2011 at 1:46 PM

I'm not sure I follow the question.